Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In modern life, technology has transformed the way that we form and maintain relationships. For some, these changes have been overwhelmingly positive but others believe that they have made us more isolated than before. I think that both of these views are valid but that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. Thanks to technology we are now able to communicate instantly with people all over the world. This communication is also possible with a wide range of applications and through phone calls, video calls, emails messages and sharing photos. Additionally there are now a number of dating sites and apps that allow us to start new relationships. These changes are predominantly positive for many people. They argue that they allow us to stay in touch with people all over the world and that our relationships are no longer governed by geographical location. The fact that we can also share information quickly and easily means that we are able to know a lot more about the people that we communicate with. However, despite these benefits there are also some negative aspectssome aspect some people spend much less time interacting face to face than they did before. As a result, it can be argued that the relationships that we form are shallower due to the fact that we can create a false, online personality rather than getting to know someone on a deeper, more personal level. It is certainly true that young people today have a tendency to spend their time glued to their screens rather than meeting people in the flesh. In conclusion, it is clear that modern communication is largely different than it used to do be. I would argue that these impacts are generally positive but that we still need to ensure that we spend time nurturing relationships with people that we know in person