It is important for children to learn the difference between right or wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is crucial to educate the children's moral values and conscience from a young age as they are the future of the country. Some believe punishment helps when directing young children to the right path. I personally believe the right punishment is helpful in disciplining children, but harsh punishment should be avoided. The punishment should deliver the message that every wrongful action has a bad consequence. If the children aren’t penalized for their wrongful actions, they may be mistaken that it is not a problem to do bad things. Therefore, proper penalization is required to right the wrong action. For example, if a kid lies to his parents, he should get a punishment like taking away his allowance or gaming gadgets for some period. With the right punishment, he will be able to reflect on his action and be hesitant to commit the same mistakes twice. However, parents and teachers should carefully determine the extent and nature of the punishment that the kids deserve. Harsh punishment, in particular, can have counter-productive results. For example, someone who is caned for stealing will think violence is acceptable since the elders use it as a way of penalizing. Consequently, this same person can lead to a violent person who uses his physical to get his way. Similarly, children can sometimes be emotionally affected by violent penalization without really realizing their wrong actions. To conclude, the right type of punishment is necessary to help children realize and reflect on their actions, it is important to make sure it doesn’t go extreme.