Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this competitive society, parents are exerting immense pressure on their children to be academically and professionally successful. While this can be an efficient measure in forming children’s future prospects and personality to a certain extent, it may lead to several severe consequences. On the one hand, it is undeniable that pressure is crucial during parenting progress. Pressure plays an important role in generating motivation amongst the young, which will keep them moving forward in the long run. Conversely, a child who is raised in an overly relaxed environment without any expectations tends to lose their learning momentum easily and find it difficult to achieve their goal easily because they are not trained enough to be capable of coping with difficulties. Moreover, sufficient pressure can dramatically contribute to the children’s ability. Through firm teaching methods from their parents, they can build their own strength as well as develop necessary skills namely critical thinking and problem-solving ability, which are highly valued in the labor market. This will render them a dominant candidate when applying for jobs. On the other hand, pressure may have a reverse effect on the young when it is not kept to a sufficient extent. When the children cannot bear the strain or meet the unreasonably high standards set by their parents, they will become either more turbulent or more self-contained. The former group can have inappropriate behaviors against their parents while the latter one may suffer from autism, or depression leading to suicidal thoughts. In addition, a great amount of pressure can also severely damage the parent-child relationship, as it may give rise to a misunderstanding between family members. Children may perceive their parents as overly critical and demanding ones while the parents just want the best for them. This results in an adverse impact on the young’s personality growth and happiness. To recapitulate, while pressure is vital during parenting progress, parents should ensure that the level of expectation does not exceed the children’s endurance.