Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Over the last decade, the presence of graffiti in cities has increased enormously, some believe that it should be authorised, while others say that it should be forbidden. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and in my opinion, the first view is superior. On the one hand, people who take the view that local councils should allow graffiti in metropolises argue that it's a kind of art that is underrated and that needs support; therefore, by letting it happens it will be a sort of exhibition for local artists. Moreover, another argument is that they are part of the nation's cultural heritage, they present values and old traditions of the country, in addition, they can be used as landmarks for foreigners, for example, in Algiers, there is a famous graffiti in city centre used by locals to guide tourists for locations. I totally agree with this side, in my point of view, not only government should give it space, it should support it financially. On the other hand, supporters of the other side claim that there are several causes to why local councils should ban such activities, firstly, not all graffiti is considered art, in fact, most of it is painted randomly, thus, it can affect the general view of towns, additionally, individuals who do that are mostly careless about what they leave around after they finish drawing, as a result, the image of neighbourhoods can be compromised. Furthermore, criminal gangs usually use this type of paint to communicate with their members or their enemies, hence, by allowing that, the government could be helping criminal activities. To conclude, as I have discussed, there are convincing arguments both for and against allowing spaces for graffiti; however, I believe that it should be encouraged.