People these days buy things that they do not even need. Why do you think people buy unwanted things? Will this have a positive or negative effect on individual and society? What do you think?

In this era, we live in a world where we can almost get everything in a click of a button and it is highly challenging for any man to distinguish between his needs and wants. It is highly likely that many things around us are not utilized enough, hence we buy them but, never really use them after a point. This trend has been a common issue among many middle-class households, which is primarily due to E-commerce. This essay will elaborate more on the reasons for this trend and discuss the implications it has on individuals and societies. Firstly, I would say that the reasons people are buying more and more beyond their needs are due to the ever-growing purchasing capacity of individuals. Additionally, it is quite evident that E-commerce has led to the formation of one global market where one can find any brand under their budget and get them right at their doorstep. For instance, fashion application like Myntra, and Amazon has given such a wide range of options under budget, which has compelled the public to make a purchase even if they might not need them. Also, lucrative offers/ persuasive advertisement has contributed to this trend. For example, BUY 2 GET 2 offer, people are tempted to buy two even if they need one, offers like that will end up buying them four of them. Secondly, this pattern may bring a short-term positive impact on individuals. This means that the person might feel a sense of satisfaction after making a purchase. While, I agree that this sector has generated many job opportunities like content creator, influencer, digital marketing etc. However, it leads to huge loss to the environment in terms of carbon footprints. This means, when your parcel is packed, stored and transported, this has an impact on the carbon footprint in our environment. To conclude, while I agree that our needs have mushroomed with the onset of e-commerce, I still believe as a responsible citizen, one has to make a judicious purchase regarding any commodity. This is irrespective of the fact if you can afford it or not. I did not intend to stand against purchasing however, the point stands here is that appreciate the comfort and the time we are living in and buy only if you think this is within your need.