In many countries today, both men and women need to work full time. Therefore, some people think men and women should share household task equally (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that duties for housework such as child care, and scratch cooking should be equally distributed among parents as most households are dual-income these days. In my perspective, it seems convincing since gender equality plays a crucial role in many households. To begin with, those in opposition to a fair distribution of household tasks claim that family roles are determined according to their sexual status. Firstly, many Asian countries traditionally have a biased society where men are in dominant positions compared to women. These patriarchal characteristics require especially mothers to be responsible for doing most housework, no matter how hard they support their families financially as a breadwinner. Whilst fathers are supposed to concern only about matters outside of the families. Moreover, the tendency was caused by a rampant machoism-oriented society for a long time in history and thus the public is used to such stereotypes of males and females roles in each household. On the other hand, there are some persuasive reasons to support why all given household tasks should be handled by both parents. First of all, we need to step forward from history when there was severe discrimination against female members since a great number of feminists fought for the right and gender equality. As a result, it became natural for women to realise their dreams and strive in their careers while sharing house chores with their partners. In addition, both men and women contribute their financial burden to their families and they are exhausted after finishing working. In other words, they both are deserved to take a rest at home so that housework including cleaning, and child-minding should be equally shared between them and such a rule will improve their life quality and happiness. In conclusion, housework should fairly be measured for men and women as they work full time. Hanse, equal distribution of household duties must be taken into consideration at a national level.