Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual persons to address. In other words, we have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One of the most worrying trends in the modern world is environmental-related issues. This trend, as it grows, has attracted attention, in view of the fact that the only method to improve our environment is through international collaboration. However, I disagree with this notion as other approaches can be implemented to achieve the desired outcome with the effort of citizens and the government. First and foremost, current environmental issues can be enhanced through individual effort. Every individual is capable of contributing to the protection and preservation of our one and only environment with quality education and relevant knowledge. For example, educational institutions and the government should raise public awareness of current environmental problems. Such an outcome can be achieved by investing in the provision of proper education to the general public. Citizens are able to gain more expertise and expand their skill sets in properly dealing with domestic waste. Consequently, with advanced knowledge and insights about globally concerned issues, everyone can do their part to make the natural world a better place to live in. Secondly, offering rewards for environmental conservation actions is another better alternative to protecting the habitat. For instance, with the implementation of the reward scheme in cities, residents would be more encouraged and motivated to perform more environmentally friendly activities that are advantageous for the surroundings because they will feel a sense of satisfaction when contributing to translating the current situation into a conducive living habitat for all. Furthermore, the states should as well facilitate citizens to take full advantage of public transportation and cut down on the use of private vehicles, such that the emission of greenhouse gases will be significantly reduced. Some critics may argue that the current environmental issue is so critical that the only approach is to promote collaboration throughout the world. By investing in such a strategy, regions across the globe are able to share advanced technologies and knowledge to work together on a shared goal. To provide an example, underdeveloped countries may not have access to innovative technologies and equipment due to resources shortage and disadvantaged economic development. By sharing resources and assistance with comparatively disadvantageous nations, countries are able to learn from each other and sharpen their skills to take action. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that global collaboration is not the optimal method to protect the environment unless they are willing to exchange ideas with underprivileged societies with their advanced techniques. Instead, the more realistic way is for governments and individuals to make the effort such as providing advanced education, switching to greener choices as well as implementing rewarding schemes.