In many countries,there is a growing gap between the technical skills of younger people and those over the age of fifty. What problems does this cause, and what solutions could minimise the problems?

It is believed across nations that the young and old generations are drifting apart in terms of technical skills. I believe this raises a major problem for young ones to connect with their parents and grandparents which can be mitigated with both the generation making an effort towards each other. As the world advances towards new and fast-growing technology, younger people are expected to adapt and pick up technical skills faster, creating distance between them and their elders. Over a period of time, this difference in understanding and capabilities becomes very evident and it leads to detachment. For example, the young generation adapts very quickly to the trend in social media and their elders are unable to keep up with them which often leads to a lack of understanding and less family time. On the other hand, the elderly also try to keep up with their young ones to keep them close and happy which often leads to fatigue and mental exhaustion. This situation further aggravates when people of both generation are not able to spend quality time with each other. For instance, a mother who is constantly trying to learn new apps and games so she can spend more time with her kids will find it exhausting and ultimately affecting her physical health. The most efficient and effective way to handle such issues is by making an effort and communicating with each other. Every elderly should have an open and honest conversation with their younger folks as it creates a deep connection and understanding. On the contrary, young people should be more patient and understanding with their elders. In conclusion, genuine conversation and a little effort can go a long way and help reduce the problems faced due to the increasing gap in technical skills and understanding.