many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Increasing the price of manufactured products has recently been considered in order to prevent potentially dangerous diseases related to sugar excess. Personally, I disagree with this idea, which does not consider people’s awareness and habits. Firstly, money will not impact individuals’ consumption while they are highly unaware of the risks of carbohydrates. Moreover, the most addicted people shall stop buying healthier food to save their expenses for candies or chocolates. First and foremost, governments around the globe have not widely spoken about the risks of sugary products, which makes the population completely unprepared to reduce its consumption. Therefore, campaigns to inform all health problems associated with this type of manufactured items must be released before making them more expensive. For example, I had watched governmental advertising on TV about diabetes which made me stop eating candies because I realized how harmful they could be. To summarize, understanding the consequences is the best strategy to avoid sugar excess, without which people will continue to buy such products even when astronomically expensive. Additionally, sugary products are extremely addictive, which makes money less important. In other words, when prices are higher, addicts will replace healthier food to save money for carbohydrates such as chocolate, which is highly pleasant for them. For instance, I have recently watched a documentary on Netflix that states that sugar excess can have the same effect on our brains as certain types of illicit drugs. In short, if consumers around the world had had more information about how dangerous these products are, they would have become less addicted to them and increasing prices could have potentially reduced their consumption. In conclusion, more expensive items are not encouraging the reduction of sugar consumption while most people are unaware of their jeopardizing effects. It is a valid strategy; however, the most addicted ones will keep their sugar habits.