Some people think the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others think that it is the responsibility of the individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both sides.

It is known that government has the power to control the country financially and economically.A handful number of people believe that the government ought to be responsible for crime prevention, while others think that it is the responsibility of the people to prevent themselves. On the one hand, it is mentioned by some that government should be accountable for stopping the crimes. In other words, the government has the ability to set rules in order to prevent crimes. Government can establish guidelines that people should obey. For instance, setting several punishments or fines for those who commit a crime. As a result, the number of crimes will reduce due to the fact that criminals may be sentenced to capital punishment or corporal punishment. These retributions might stop them from committing misdeeds due to the fact that the majority of criminals have families and they have to take care of them. Another reason why the government should be responsible is that people pay taxes to the government and they expect it to cover all their needs and protect them from danger. To put it simply, people pay quite a big amount to the government such as income and property taxes, therefore the government is expected to invest the money to provide a safer environment and society. On the other hand, it is often argued that individuals ought to prevent themselves from any jeopardy surrounding them. Obviously, people cannot rely solely on the police due to the fact that the government might not be immediately always available or capable of providing instantaneous protection in every situation. Therefore, people should prepare for any urgent or sudden situation in the government will not be able to provide immediate prevention. Secondly, individuals should learn how to protect themselves in case they are in a place where the police may not have control, such as in a rural area. Thus, people should take necessary precautions to protect themselves from any unexpected danger that they may face. To recapitulate, many people believe that crimes should be prevented by the government as they are accountable, whereas others think that individuals are expected to protect themselves.