Many children these days face difficulties to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the causes of this situation? What could be the possible solutions?

With the average attention span in children declining, it gets difficult for them to focus on classes at school. And with the flawed curriculum and short-form content dominating social media, the problem only worsens over time. This essay will cover the causes and suggest possible solutions to the problem. Nowadays, children have the lowest average attention span in history. One cause of this is social media, promoting short and attention-grabbing videos, resulting in much social media addiction. Moreover, a strict schedule also impacts the student's concentration. Based on research, students studying for long periods perform worse than those with fewer classes. They often lose focus by the third hour of their study, meaning classes after that are utterly useless. In addition, because of bad academic performances, parents often sign up for extra tuition and confiscate phones from their children as a form of punishment. As a result, it backfires as they crave time on their phones, reverting to scrolling for countless hours. One solution for this is encouraging them to explore new interests and take time off from their studies. Studies have shown that hobbies help with building focus and extending their knowledge. Furthermore, in the best country academically, Finland, students have independence over their courses and schedules, emphasizing experience over knowledge. A lighter schedule also results in better health and well-being of the students. In conclusion, parents should encourage taking breaks from studying for children, following their passion and hobbies. And this will help rebuild their attention span, which results in a healthy and competent person ready for the future.