Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some say this information may be relevant and useful, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The hiring trend for jobs has dramatically changed along with the passage of time, from just filing an application form to test drives and multiple interviews. Often employers get data of employers ranging from their personal attributes to their hobbies and interests. In my opinion, there is nothing wrong in this practice as long as it is kept secret and within the domain of the company. Firstly, the recruitment agencies tend to get scores of information about the applicant, such data is useful for screening out the best candidate for the available job. Hobbies and interests are known to confirm they are hiring the right person for the right job. Moreover, there is a perception that a married person would serve themfor a long time as compared to an unmarried owing to his family commitments. For example, certain companies even send gifts on the birthday and marriage anniversary of their employees, this is only possible once they have complete data of yours. Secondly, however, there exist numerous applicants that don’t want to share their personal information with anyone else, not even their employer. Since they are of the view that this info might be leaked and get to the public. Furthermore, they are not interested to show off their hobbies and interest since certain hobbies or interests might not be fit for the job and they might lose the job owing to the strict policies of companies and hiring agencies. In a nutshell, the gravity of the situation demands that recruitment agencies must have a plethora of knowledge about the job applicants. Nevertheless, there is no harm in providing the relevant data to the hiring authorities as long as it is safe and used for the prosperity and well-being of the employers.