It is important to be concerned about international events, even if those events have no direct impact on our lives. To what degree do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people say that it is a waste of time to worry about international events as they are unlikely to affect our lives. However, I firmly believe that we should keep an eye on global issues just in case they happen to us directly or indirectly. First of all, various problems such as global warming or wars are related throughout the world. Although one of them does not seem to have an effect on us, it is highly likely to influence our lives after all. Therefore, we should be cautious about these events and make sure if we can prevent the disasters when they occur. For example, Pakistan has suffered from floods since last year. Though the flood is not going to happen to us at the moment, we should prepare some solutions to deal with such devastating floods in the future, as global warming is getting worse and worse. Secondly, we can learn lessons from global news, which makes us wiser when we solve our own problems. A number of countries already had events which we have not experienced yet. Rather than looking over the cases while thinking they are not our business, however, we need to go over them to adjust them to our situations in days to come. For instance, my country is learning how we can accept many immigrant workers efficiently from what other countries have done so far. Also, we not only take others’ policies but also make our own policies when it comes to immigration. In conclusion, as global issues are likely to affect our lives vicariously or immediately, we are able to earn lessons from them. For this reason, looking around international news is more imperative than ever before.