Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation. In what ways do you think this has happened? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the use of social networking has grown beyond recognition, bringing a new set of concerns with it. Young people can easily communicate with various platforms that are installed on their phones. It has never been easier to keep in touch with family and friends whenever they are in the world. Despite this, however, online communication sheds light on the causes of social isolation. As far as I am concerned, the internet and instant messaging have a better point due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. I, therefore, agree that rather than helping society members communicate, technology actually weakened social bonds due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Firstly and most obviously, due to the advent of the internet, people focused on technology rather than what is happening around them. While this might help us keep? in touch with those who are far away from us, often it means that the user forgets those in the vicinity. For example, if you attend a family gathering it is obvious that old and young generations are looking at their phones instead of speaking with each other. Secondly, using social networks might seem a good solution for those who are shy or worried about meeting others, ironically it is more likely to keep them at home. If people have weak social behaviour, they would have to go out and meet others to learn how to interact with crowds in person, which is a much healthier way to deal with being lonely. In conclusion, to sum up, one commonly held idea is that the world wide web can help with quick and convenient connections for business, or when they live in distant places. Although for a number of reasons it has not increased social cohesion overall.