The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable that Scientific discoveries have facilitated human life. This, according to some individuals, should be the main purpose of such developments. It seems to me that it might be the case and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, the major motivation for scientists to seek achievements ranging from transportation to AI is public convenience. By this, we mean that there is always a necessity which brings about a movement to address leading to development in a specific area. A telling example is the invention of the telephone being because of people's need to communicate remotely. A second factor that makes the scholars' ultimate goal to be society's comfort is the monetary reasons. It is obvious that money is playing an essential role in everyone's life and scholars are no exception. This means they tend to dedicate most of their time and effort to matters that are of interest to people, significant of which, is their welfare. an example to illustrate this is the amount of time and energy that has been put into the development of smartphones enabling individuals to call, photograph and surf on the internet with only one device making their lives more convenient. Admittedly, I agree with those who argue that science must be in the service of other crucial issues such as addressing environmental pollution. However, tackling such problems is in human' interest as well. To conclude, it seems reasonable that the researcher's main purpose to improve people's lives improvements along considering that all other subjects are also for humanity's welfare.