Some people say that art subject such as painting and drawing shiuld not be made compulsory for highschool students. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

While some people tend towards the viewpoint that art is an essential subject for high school students, I would have to support the idea that it is better when the optional subject is art. On the one hand, there are clear arguments that studying art is one of the compulsory subjects in the high school curriculum. One of the main reasons can be that art subjects including drawing, singing, painting and so on can assist students ’ mental health and imagination. This means that after many stressful classes in a week, art subject allows students to have a relaxing time with friends and express their interests. Another reason can be that improving imagination is also as important as expanding knowledge for students, and learning art subject is one of the good ways to develop creativity which needs in lots of jobs today. For example, according to a survey of Vnexpress in 2019, for 100 students, there would be about 80 students who had positive emotions after art class. On the other hand, I agree with the view that art subject is not really necessary to become a compulsory subject in high school. Firstly, art class is not appropriate for all students. This is because some people do not keen on learning art and are comfortable to put attention to this subject as other essential subjects at school, so it can be a waste of time to study this subject. Secondly, art lesson does not need to help people succeed in some careers. For instance, it is clear that a lot of artists do not pay well for their works of art. In conclusion, although art subject should not be essential in high school compulsory, I’m convinced that art class is one of the important subjects, so high school students need to study it as a compulsory subject in school.