Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, education and training are better solutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many countries, the most basic way to solve crime is by putting criminals in prison. On the other hand, there is an opposing opinion said that education and training are more effective solutions. From my personal point of view, I agree that jail is a suitable way for solving crime since teaching and training criminals can possibly have some undeniable limitations. Firstly, putting those who committed crimes into a closed and sealed place like prison is safe for society. For instance, they do not have the freedom to go out and continue to do horrible acts that harm innocent people. Moreover, criminals need to be punished for what they have caused. For example, they will have time to seriously think about their past actions and that might make them want to change for the better. Secondly, education and training are more reasonable when applied to criminals who are still minors. For instance, teenagers who commit crimes will have the chance to learn and be taught basic human principles instead of strictly locking them up with other adult prisoners. In addition, those who are put into jail can also be trained there while they are not allowed to be free because of their crimes. In conclusion, I personally think that lockup is the appropriate way to solve crime since that is a place where unlawful acts are not permitted and education can also be a part of training them into good people again.