In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of aging population

The duration of life time has increased because of advanced facilities in modern world. This can lead to several issues like overload on medical care, but that can be tackled by adopting several measures like introducing pension schemes and improving health care facilities. Primarily, the high life expectancy rate in developed world can contribue huge pressure on the health care system such as high demand of geriatric care. In other words, when the people become old, they will not be able to perform their daily needs independently. As a result they has to be accommodated in nursing homes or hospitals, which will create burden over the medical society, even if it is the obligation of developed world to look after their elders. Apart from this, the financial support which has to be delivered to the old age people will create economic crisis in governments. Thus they need to allocate more funds in care sector and well-being of such people. To illustrate, in order to give pensions and other support, authorities have to spent more money, which has suppose to be used for other areas like improvement of education and infrastructure. On the other hand, there are several measures can be taken to alleviate these issues, firstly, by anticipating the future needs of old age care, the public health sector has to be improved according to the demand.The amenities like hospitals and nursing homes with properly trained staff can reduce the impact on healthcare sector by providing adequate space for them. Furthermore, government has to introduce certain pension schemes for elder people to relieve the financial crisis.To explain, there could be a plan, where people can save money for their care needs in future, which will reduce the effect of financial issues and help them to avoid the support from their children and grandchildren. Moreover, by increasing the retirement age will prompt the aged people to work more and help them to be salaried till they are physically fit for doing job In conclusion, the impact on healthcare sector and cost of care are the problems raised by high life expectancy. Whereas, by improving healthcare infrastructure and implementing certain pension plans can reduce the effect of such issues in society.