Many people today prefer to socialise online rather than spend time with friends in the local community. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more people prefer to conduct online contact with each other instead of face-to-face communication. I personally think that it may have an adverse impact on the development of communication skills of individuals although such a mode of socialisation provides an opportunity to make more friends from different cultures. One possible drawback of making friends online is that people will spend less time having real conversations with each other and their conversation skills can be eroded. The development of competency in communication requires practice in person, however, online chats may not be able to achieve the desired outcome. For example, most of our interactions have been shifted online due to technological advancement. The public forms new friendships in a virtual world where much of the human interactions are computerized and there is no point in actual contact. As such, society may not be well-versed in communicating with others in real life. In contrast, having online conversations allow the community to expand their knowledge and broaden their horizons by interacting with others from alternative cultural backgrounds. The intriguing information on social media platforms attracts many from different backgrounds to have conversations and meanwhile increase their understanding of certain cultures. For example, online connection with different communities creates an environment for individuals to virtually experience perspective lifestyles virtually and gain meaningful experience. It is extremely convenient for people to comprehend different cultures without the need of spending a fortune to be physically there. Consequently, socialising online gives one a chance to increase their understanding of different civilizations and obtain rewarding experiences. In a nutshell, the problems of making friends online outweigh their benefits to a large extent as they may be counterproductive to one's contact abilities as well as building interpersonal correlations despite the opportunity to gain meaningful cultural experiences. Society should place more emphasis on real-world communications as it is a powerful assistance in bringing the public together.