Today more and more people want things instantly (e.g: goods, service, news). Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Undeniably, many people wish to have their demands met immediately. This essay will explain the reason behind this, thereby proving that this is a negative development. Today’s life differs very much from what it used to be in the 1900s. More and more people are struggling to keep up with the fast-paced life, especially in metropolises, with the aim of meeting their basic needs. Indeed, time is perhaps the most valuable thing among them, as they do not want to waste their time waiting for something, and such a period could be better used for another purpose. This accidentally stimulates the need to fulfil things instantly, thereby proliferating fast services such as fast food or quick health check-ups. Thus, the attempt to avoid long waiting times partially accounts for the escalating number of individuals wanting their services instantly. Although the reason for the above growth is worth considering, the writer believes that this just satisfies people’s needs at the beginning time, and the later consequences are terrible. Take shopping as a prime example, the value of certain things before being sold is much bigger after they are bought. To be more specific, citizens today have a tendency to own the latest commodities; meanwhile, there are new products every day. This could adversely spoil the value of the old merchandise that were just sold a few days ago as the buyers feel that these are outdated. In conclusion, I believe that the instant need for things may result from the fact that people do not want their time to be wasteful. Besides, such demand also poses a threat to the real value of today's products for the above-mentioned reasons.