Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Crime is a common issue and concern for every country worldwide. It is believed that the government play an important role to protect the nation from criminal, while others said that a person should take care of it by themselves. In my opinion, the government has more effective rules to prevent crime rates than individuals. The first reason is that the authority has a full right to increase security effectiveness. They hire many police officers and assign them to every location. People who are found guilty will be arrested. Secondly, the government creates strong regulations for the whole country, so everyone must obey the law. Whenever they commit a crime, the government will arrest them immediately. Therefore, it makes people feel afraid to make mistakes. However, protecting themselves is the first priority to avoid any risk. Even though they live in a secure area, they should not rely mostly on the government. Moreover, they have to find a solution to solve it before calling others for help. For instance, people enjoy using social networks for making new friends, but some of them try to use these sites for illegal activities. Particularly, by persuading others for their private information, scammers can use this to threaten victims for money and so on. If we find out their bad purpose, we will block or report them. In my opinion, preventing crime is the government ’s responsibility since this issue is a big problem, and only strict regulation that is created by the government can solve this. It means that when there is no crime, the government can gain more trust from citizens. To conclude, although individuals should be aware of crime by themselves, I strongly believe that the government is the only one who can diminish or stop this matter in terms of its power and regulation.