Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people say that advertising is so common that we no longer pay any attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial debate around the question if advertising is or is not successful at convincing people to buy products. While some people believe that nowadays people do not pay attention to them, I am of the contrary opinion and I support the idea that these campaigns are crucial for sales due to the money invested in them. Nowadays, the global market uses marketing campaigns as a strong method to connect with their audiences, selling them their own products over other brands. In addition, these adverts are an innovative way to stay close to consumers and have a better knowledge of their preferences. For example, when big companies such as Coca-Cola, Nestle, or Apple invest millions of dollars in marketing, it is because they clearly know the direct impact that it has on their sales. Furthermore, it is an extremely successful method to create new products according to the audience and use advertising as a via to approach these new goods. However, it is well known that currently, advertising takes a big part in people ’s lives due to its daily exposure. Moreover, this overexposure could have a negative impact on their sales, making people not pay attention to the new publicity. For example, some families use the publicity time on their televisions during a film for doing household duties, going to the bathroom or cooking dinner. Furthermore, because publicity time takes a long period of time, it could reduce peoples’ attention to the advert and make them bored. To conclude, although there is a fact that nowadays there are so many marketing campaigns that could have a negative effect on sales, I believe that advertising is an extremely successful way to connect with customers and it has been proven that it has a direct impact on sales, increasing them. If companies would establish measures to control how many adverts people see during a day, it could be beneficial for their sales.