Government investment in the arts such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

The arts and public services are both essential parts of human lives. Government investing in musicians and actors is a form of mismanagement of public funds rather this should be put in the latter. I think there should be a balanced investment because the arts are good sources of livelihood for some people and public services also provide basic amenities for human existence. These facts will be further discussed with relevant examples and a logical conclusion. To begin with, music and theatre are greatly entertaining as well as jobs for some people. The government supporting the entertainment industry will lead to its advancement as well as create work for its citizens. For instance, building good general music studios and theatre villages, therefore enabling young artists to be productive, earn a decent living and pay tax thus, contributing to the financial growth of the country. Furthermore, music and movies could be therapeutic as they are usually inculcated into the treatment of sick people as a form of diversional therapy for those suffering from depression and terminal disease conditions. Government investment in public services can never be over-emphasized. This is because the lack of a good healthcare system will negatively affect the citizens likewise the economy of the nation. For example, building and equipping hospitals with the necessary facilities, facilitate quick access to health and treatment of sick individuals. In addition, the availability of good roads, electricity, etc, will encourage investment by foreign investors which will provide job opportunities and consequently improve the resources of the country. In conclusion, Government investment in the arts is not a waste of resources but is as important as investing in public services. Some individuals depend on singing and acting as the source of their income. On the other hand, hospitals, roads and electricity enhance human lives and cause an improvement in the country's finances. However, this should be prioritised and public services should be hugely invested in.