In some countries, schools remained open for more hours so that children can be looked after because their parents are working. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages of this?

The educational system across the world has seen significant changes compared to the last few decades. Increasingly, more schools are kept open for longer hours, to allow their parents to work and manage parental duties. This essay will put forth the advantages and disadvantages when school kids are enrolled in longer schooling hours in some countries. Owing to today’s fast-paced lifestyle, parents are required to satisfy not just the job duties, but family responsibilities as well. Hence, they enrol their kids in schools with longer hours. This is mainly because of subsequent reasons. First, it provides significant convenience to the parents for dropping off and picking up their offspring while going to and fro from work. For instance, this helps in solving problems two-fold of managing their work duties as well as keeping child under direct supervision of teachers instead of in daycare. Second, kids start to learn, interact and play with similar age-group students and teachers uplifting their holistic development. At times they are offered lunch in schools, relieving their parents from the added responsibilities. Hence, the above advantages compel parents to enrol kids in such schools in some countries. On the contrary, there are a few disadvantages associated with such practice. First and foremost, that seems like a way to run away from parental responsibilities. Moreover, at times there is a possibility for a child coming under bad influence from their peers or not being disciplined by their teachers. Lastly, children get tired all day and after reaching home, they sleep early devoiding them of spending quality time with their parents at home. Consequently, the downsides for such practices should not be overlooked. With the need of a fast-paced lifestyle to keep up with globalization and competitiveness, parents enrol kids in school for longer hours. This has gained significant traction in the developed countries. To summarize, the disadvantages of bad influence and spending quality time with parents exists, however benefits of convenience to the parents, supervision and education for school kids far outweigh any risk posed.