Some people believe that smoking is harmful for health and should thus be banned. Do you agree or disagree with this view.

Smoking is one of the common addictions among people. Undoubtedly, it has serious bad effects on the human body, hence it has to be banned. I consent that smoking is detrimental but outlawing smoking, is not easy and could bring side effects. Smoking products and advertisements themselves mention that these are injurious to health. Hence, it cannot be denied that smoker is risking their life while smoking, fatal diseases such as lung cancer, throat cancer, and asthma commonly occur due to smoking. In research, the lungs of a healthy person and a heavy smoker were compared, in which a person who smokes damages his lungs in mere 3 months and cannot be recovered. Moreover, an active smoker is not the only one who suffers, he makes people around him suffer too. Noxious fumes coming out of smoke are equally dangerous to passive smokers, as they breathe in the emitted fumes and they go inside their body in a similar way as a smoker. As a result, passive smokers become prone to lung diseases as well. However, forbidding people from using cigarettes is not simple as it seems. First of all, smoking is a primarily common addiction in most countries and governments are earning tons of capital from tobacco companies by imposing heavy taxes. If a ban is imposed on the making and selling of tobacco products then the economy of a nation would be affected in a large manner. Secondly, a black market could build as a result of the ban. The creation of a black market could ruin many businesses, inflation could result from this and economic growth could slow down. To summarize this, smoking is injurious no doubt and should be banned certainly but the government should consider the consequences that a country could have to face in future.