Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The recent pandemic changed the way people live their life nowadays, and children are no exception in this case. Smartphone usage among children uptick in the last few years mostly spending their time on online activities such as online tuition, online extra-curricular activities such as music classes, painting classes, social media, games, etc. I think this is a positive development for the children. Children are attending their school classes online while getting trained on some of the activities online that they like the most such as handcrafting, painting, exercise classes, yoga classes, etc. which helps them to maintain and to develop their physical and mental well-being. Additionally, by using social media and online games over smartphones, they make new friends, and keep them social in this new era. While spending an enormous time on smartphones, eventually they spend less time in transport, resulting in quality time with the family and on household chores, making them a responsible family member. Excessive use of smartphones online can lead to negative development as well. Social media and online games have a positive impact until used moderately, or else these activities can be easily diverted as distractions. Parents should guide their children by advising them, and keeping children informed about the positive and negative influence smartphones can make on their life. In conclusion, smartphone usage on children has more positive development with the help of their parents, by fueling children ’s energies in the right direction online, and by using parental-control features as needed.