Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whilst some perspectives suggest students should gain a wide range of knowledge in schools, I am personally in favour of giving more freedom for young individuals to focus on the courses they are interested in. The former allows young individuals to explore different possibilities to locate their strengths, and the latter could cultivate talents in professional fields. To begin with, each curriculum helps youth to develop their capacities in different aspects, such as learning sciences could provoke critical thinking, and mathematics are good practices for building logic. Moreover, the proponents believe young people with various abilities are able to address different tasks, which leads to higher incomes and better life qualities. For example, educational institutions in Taiwan expect their students to take curriculums in all professional areas during compulsory education, which enables them all the necessary background knowledge to pursue further education. On the other hand, I believe, with limited time, young individuals should make good use of time on what they are passion for, in order to have a better performance which stimulates their comfidence in the acquisition of knowledge. Furthermore, focusing onlyon a few subjects gives them more time to gain essential experiences. For example, many pilots in Western countries started gaining practical experiences while they are studying, which allows them to get promotions earlier, compared to those who wait until their highest education is finished. To summarise, it is inevitable that gaining knowledge in a wide range could enable descendants with multiple capacities to solve problems and have better performance in academic education, it also provides more time for those who are indecisive about their future. Reversely, in my perspective, helping children to find their strength and focus on correlative curriculums could derive more advantages since it could not only benefit individuals but for societies to have more competent employees.