Most people pay taxes to contribute to the development of their country, however, some think they have other responsibilities rather than paying taxes. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

A majority of individuals view paying tariffs as a good thing as it has a positive result in contributing to the development of their own country. Vice versa, others think that they have other duties to do rather than paying taxes. I personally think that paying levies is a huge responsibility that every citizen should take it seriously as it helps to increase the growth of their nation. First of all, the purpose of tax revenue is to help raise the living standard of all the citizens in a country. The governments mainly use their expenditure to invest in public health, transport, and education so that the poor can be able to access those things. Accordingly, this helps to narrow down the gap between the underprivileged and the wealthy people. Consequently, social problems can crimes can be decreased and more people are able to access the essentials. Moreover, as individuals pay a levy, they will be able to consume some goods or services for a cheaper price. For example, in many public schools tuition is free to ensure that all children can be able to go to school or public hospital fees are often more affordable compared to private hospitals. However, if the tax rates are too high, this can discourage many people from working and contributing to the economy. Subsequently, productivity is likely to fall which leads to a decrease in the total GDP of a nation. This indicates that their development is decreasing. For instance, in many countries, due to the income taxes being too high as the citizens earn a higher amount of salary, individuals will demotivate which makes them not bother to seek a better promotion. As a result, many innovative ideas might have been neglected. Overall, it is understandable that society does not see paying taxes as a positive thing. However, it is a good thing to pay tariffs in order to help a higher number of communities to be able to access many goods and services.