In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The youth of the Western world usually choose to pursue tertiary education and reach higher academic standards. However, such an option is not a paradigm for developing countries in which students opt for vocational apprenticeships. Although an academic degree may bring better opportunities in the West, such as a higher salary, a technical job would be of great benefit for someone whose access to higher education is limited. Unfortunately, many African states neither provide free higher education nor financial aid to support school graduates. As a result, school leavers tend to follow opportunities in the technical field by choosing plumbing, electrical studies and car mechanics. This situation causes many young people to lose their chance to discover their full potential in the academic field. For example, a national geographic documentary on Somalian high-school graduates found that a quarter of their graduates had set their sights on becoming lawyers and doctors. On the other hand, pursuing an academic career in a country that is under development would be a paradox. African states are now among the most popular places to invest. The large number of developmental plans has opened up many job opportunities requiring technical workers. In fact, an electrician probably has a higher chance of securing a job than an architect in a rapidly-developing state like Nigeria. As a consequence, those companies offer higher salaries among other benefits to attract workers and it is still profitable for them since hiring fewer architects would be less expensive. In conclusion, choosing high-standard career paths does not always lead to success. This is evident in countries that are in need of people who can provide a helping hand in the form of a builder. I believe those individuals who reside in places undergoing such developmental reforms will achieve a higher quality of life.