An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

The trend of going under the knife to enhance aesthetic appeal is becoming an order of the day with some individuals. The reason why people undergo this is to change their outlook. In my view, this is a negative innovation and this essay will expatiate on the consequences of these actions on the persons involved and the public in general and substantiates with relevant examples in the subsequent paragraphs To begin with, those going for modifications of the part of the body do so to make them more attractive to their admirers but the surgery may not be successful and in the process lose their lives. For instance, in the year 2022, there was a story in the newspaper of a lady that went for liposuction in a private clinic in Lagos, Nigeria. The procedure was not well performed and she kicked the bucket during the process. In addition, rumours had it some years ago that wife of a President of one of the West African countries gave up the ghost while undergoing a similar operation outside the country. Furthermore,a young girl in the Southeast part of Nigeria who went for buttocks enhancement surgery is still lamenting her woes today because of the outcome of the operation that got her bottom infected. Moreover, others change their complexion to be noticed easily in public. For example, a dark skin woman after undergoing cosmetic procedures may become lighter in appearance. In furtherance to this, there are some in society today that have changed their gender after going through transgender operations. An example is a Nigerian celebrity who was formerly a man but is now a woman. In conclusion, no matter the reasons behind having cosmetic surgery, those opting for it should consider the aftermath which outweighs the temporary benefits it might provide for them because in the end, the damage is not palatable. So this is a negative development.