The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there is a significant increase in space exploration programs with the development of science and technology. Many people argue that governments should not approve the budget for such programs and rather, that money should be spent on other essential public services like education institutions and hospitals; however, I totally disagree with the statement as in my opinion aerospace engineering is equally important. To begin with, aerospace engineering has helped mankind in many ways. Without space programs, there will be no GPS and no accurate weather forecasting. For example, satellites help in predicting weather conditions due to which timely measures can be taken to reduce the effects of natural disasters like floods and hurricanes. Most countries use GPS systems to monitor the borders of their regions which helps them keep their people safe. Thus, space engineering is highly beneficial for the world. Additionally, Earth has been dealing with many environmental issues and with the rising population, natural resources are on the verge of extinction. Now, if scientists and astronauts will be able to find life on any other planet, it will be highly beneficial for future generations. For instance, if traces of water are found on any other planet the issue of water scarcity will be resolved. Hence, space science can help to find natural resources on other planets. To conclude, space exploration is highly essential in order to deal with the rising environmental problems. In my opinion, governments should keep funding and supporting these projects for a better life ahead.