Many young people today are leaving their homes in the countryside to move to cities. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage young people to stay in rural areas?

There is no denying that nowadays many youngsters in rural areas tend to migrate to cities. This essay will elaborate on the primary reasons for it and put forward possible steps that can be taken to slow down this influx from rustic to urban areas. One motive behind such a decision is certainly the need for better education. There are always those young individuals in the countryside who have serious academic goals such as a degree in law or engineering. For them, relocating to a city where prestigious seats of learning are situated seems to be a sheer necessity. A second common reason for rural exodus is to earn money. Due to there being very limited employment prospects in rural areas, it is usually unskilled workforce that heads to metropolitan areas in search of menial work. Construction workers, for instance, are mostly this kind of people, who satisfy their needs with a low amount of wage. To counteract the former factor, universities should formulate more comprehensive online courses so that not everyone has to travel from afar, a method that is already widespread in the West. A case in point is the University of Toronto, which offers up to 40 different Internet-based courses. A second course of action would be for governments to create new jobs relevant to different parts of the country. To illustrate, Azerbaijani authorities have invested heavily in winter tourism in the mountainous district of Gabala. This has significantly increased tourist arrivals in the area, resulting in numerous employment opportunities for rural residents living not far from the newly built tourist facilities. In summary, employment opportunities and education and the two chief reasons bringing people to cities. However, rural people can be stimulated to stay in the countryside by making online education more widely available and creating more workplaces suited to different parts of the country. I am hopeful that these ideas will be put into practice more widely than they are now.