Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

Current trends have demonstrated the upheaval in competition between older and younger applicants for equivalent jobs. I believe this is becoming more of an occurrence and poses a major problem, causing less adults within that age range to be hired for a job. The government should take action in ensuring that people of all ages are considered equally for each employment position. To outline the main problem, older individuals have a lower probability of landing a position in an establishment if they are being compared to someone who is younger. The reason for this being that many employers are searching for employees that will be able to grow within the company and who will stay with them long-term. For instance, prospects of greater age will probably retire a few years after starting the job. Additionally, the hiring staff may think that this subset of applicants are not as physically or mentally fit as their opponent. This results in extraordinary opportunity for the youth but a detriment to the elderly, as they still need to financially support themeselves and their family. A solution to this ongoing issue would be for the government to establish a law that does not allow companies to ask for an applicants birth date throughout the application process. This will reduce bias when deciding on whom to hire as an addition to the workplace. Moreover, accepting someone with extensive knowledge and experience within the field will allow them to mentor the younger workers and ultimately assist in growing the company. Studies have shown that by intermixing younger and older employees only adds to the success of a business. To conclude, it is evident throughout the years, that a larger number of elderly individuals are in need of employment mainly due to being overlooked because of their age. With proper legislations in place, this level of judgement can be subsided and in the next couple years, more older individuals will be employed.