Space exploration is a luxury that we cannot afford. Instead of spending billions of dollars on space programs, governments should use this money to fight global problems such as poverty, disease, and climate change. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The government of developed countries have been spending billion worth of money to send mankind into space for exploration, and examination of the earth's mysterious surroundings. Such trips, though hold meaningful value to astronomers, cause controversy due to the trade-off against budget for treating problems in social, healthcare and environmental aspects. From my point of view, cosmic exploration is essential and investment-worthy; however, in times of crisis, any affair that directly affects the well-being of humans should be prioritized. On the one hand, it is important to stress that space trip for examination is indeed beneficial to both scientific research and people in the long run. What we experience on our Earth so far is just the tip of an iceberg - the universe, hence there is no guarantee that we won't suffer from another hit capable of bringing extinction to mankind. Therefore, findings from space exploration provide scientists with more knowledge needed to predict and possibly resolve the dilemma. On the other hand, such findings require time and resources to further analyse before any useful or establishable conclusion can be made, plus, results can take up to a decade to reach normal people. Therefore, the benefits of the programs may happen far in the future but investment in space programs does take up free cash available to spend more on battling other more realistic issues that matter to the society at the moment. In times of crisis, it is more important to prioritize investment to tackle social issues because cosmic findings need humans in existence to prove their value, so humans should be protected from harm before we get to the stage of utilization of more space findings. Adding to the point, in some cases, space operations seem to be a competition of power between wealthy nations rather than for scientific purposes. This left developing countries, which mainly suffered from social issues, underinvested. Moreover, budgets for such plan are also susceptible to embezzlement because they are normally hefty and the results can be vague/of little value, thus reports can be easily altered to make way for corrupted behaviours. In conclusion, both investment activities are crucial, amid the scepticism of the need for space exploration. For both to coexist effectively, political leaders should prioritize budget social, and environmental problems were they to seriously assess where the real attention should be headed to. Additionally, they should make an effort to make add integrity to statement establishment and explains results, and application of cosmic knowledge in a way that attracts and interests non-scholars in the field, so that more people get to understand the need for such plan.