Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do Do you agree or disagree?

Some persons are of the view that engaging the elderly in official duties while they have the capacity to work is important. I totally disagree with this thought as it can lower the chances of youth employment and reduce productivity of the organisations. This essay will highlight the reasons for my opinion and expatiate with relevant examples. Unemployment is a major economic problem for affected communities. Retaining old people in active service can be detrimental to societal economy as it will lower the chances of engaging the young folks into labour. More so, using strength as a criteria for retirement will cause difficulties in determining retirement time hence, increasing the population of jobless and financially independent youth. For instance: United Nation recorded greater population of aged workers in south Asia during a population census. The exercise also reported increased crime rate resulting from unemployment. Therefore it is evident that keeping old folks in the field will be harmful to the society. Owing to the fact that degenerative process must occur, it is essential that humans create a period of rest and leisure as this will help reduce the effects of degenerative changes in humans. The issue of rest can never be over emphasised because having time out improves productivity and better health. Keeping old people at work will yield poor performance due to the fact that they become more fragile. For example Nestle experienced economic crisis in the year 2002 when they had more worker above 60years of age in office. After a delibration the organisation decided to employ younger work force and had a better output after few months. In essence, old folks should be retired from active service to allow organisational growth. Conclusively, departure from work should be based on age for the purpose of creating employment opportunities and promoting organisational performance