Government investments in the arts, such as music and theatre , is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or diagree?

Some parts of the population believe that the authorities showing interest in investing in arts such as music and theatre is a complete waste of funds and such funds should be jeered towards improving public services instead. I totally disagree with this statement because investing in arts such as music and theatre is a way of sustaining the cultural identity and diversity of the nation and it is also a means of generating more revenue for the nation through tourism. These points will be further explained with relevant examples in subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, a nation is made up of diverse cultures that are represented through arts such as music and theatre. Moreover, investing in arts will be very beneficial because the identity of all cultures will be preserved for future generations. For example, storytelling can be done with music and paintings which will be a way of upholding the values of the culture and various festivals done with the assistance of government funds will give the indigenes a sense of belonging which will in turn foster unity in diversity. Secondly, revenue can be generated by creating tourist’s attraction sites through the use of art. For instance, tourist’s attraction sites such as museum, musical theatres or movie theatres receive thousands of visitors daily from all over the world, this will create a positive surge in the economy of the nation which will not only be beneficial to the government but will also be profitable to the population at large. In conclusion, it is very important to note that investing funds in arts such as music and theatre should not be seen as a waste. Instead, it should be seen as a way of safeguarding cultural heritage and also a way of boosting the country’s economy through tourism.