You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion? Write at least 250 words.

These days, the number of cruelties in the media is increasing. Some people argue that this will be a dangerous future, while others believe that it has no damaging effect on society. In my opinion, violent cases that have been shown in the media do not affect people ’s behaviour. Firstly, I think people have their own identities, which means violence in the media does not affect their behaviour. If someone often commits a crime in a society, that is not because of violence that has been presented on television or in computer games; it is due to their characteristics as well as their education. Even for children, some people may believe that violence in media affects children’s attitudes, however, it also depends on their parents and the people around them. People who are intellectual and humane will not be influenced by cruel actions in the media. Therefore, violence in computer games and even on television does not have negative effects on society. Secondly, video games and television have no negative effect on people ’s behaviour, however, they provide entertainment and reduce social violence in appropriate places. For instance, when people get stressed or angry, they can play fighting games in virtual reality to release their anger as well as stress which is effective to avoid social violence. In addition, I have never heard that someone does cruelty to other people because they play computer games and watch television, there’s no connection between violent media and harmful activities in society. Thus, violent media gives positive effects in terms of entertainment and reducing social violence. To sum up, I would say that violence in media has not a significant effect on people ’s behaviour. Television and computer games are not the main factors that shape personal character, and they can even be useful in entertainment and in reducing cruelty in society.