4.It’s more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether studying local history has more crucial role to play in the knowledge acquisition process of kids than learning world history. I partially agree with this opinion which I will elaborate more in this essay. The main reason why I believe that studying local past is being compromised is because facts and figures in local history can help these young individuals to pay homage to former soldiers and ancestors who had sacrificed their lives for the independence of the country. As well as this, from learning the local past might develop children to understand thoroughly the origin and meaning of traditional events, customs and so on of their motherland, so they can maintain the valuable tradition for the next generation. To exemplify, by watching and listening the video of proclamation recitation by Ir. Soekarno, Indonesia youngster might can understand the value of freedom and respect the sacrifice of their ancestor. On the other hand, there are several reasons why is wrong to neglect teaching of world history to children. Firstly, in the globalisation era, knowing about history of other countries is might be beneficial. This is because, people are prone to revere and support people who express respectfulness of the local culture and history of other countries. Consequently, it provides more opportunities for children to work and make friends with foreigners. Secondly, Studying the world ’s history also broadens children ’s horizon particularly in language, mindset and behaviour of each people in other nations in which it helps them to learn in terms of accepting divergent cultures and customs that exist to be more tolerance and life more interesting. In conclusion, it is my belief that although local history is more necessary, world history has an important role. I am convinced that the study of local history should parallel world history so that children could apprehend history more effectively.