Some people think that watching sports in one's free time is just a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Sporting events and competitions has always been a joy to watch. People across various countries from different ages enjoy it, as it is not only entertaining, but also connects people together and help relieve stress at the same time. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that watching sports in one's free time is unproductive. Sports enthusiasts often have a favourite team that day supported since years ago, even decades. Every time their team plays, they would turn on the television and start watching. While this is a sign of showing massive support to the team, it is also a healthy activity to do in their part- time, relative to smoking or drinking. From watching sports, athletes can learn and refine their skills by taking notes from the players, and implement it on the field when they are in training next time. Hence, I support the idea that watching sports is a productive activity as it will provide learning oppurtunities while steering people away from unhealthy habits. Furthermore, watching sports can assist in increasing interaction and bonding between humans. For instance, competitive, world-wide events for example the World Cup and Olympics include the participation of many nations. Millions of spectators can be expected during these events and usually family members or friends will come together to appreciate the beauty and competitveness of the sport. These moments always create unforgettable memories, where quality time are being spent with cheering and laughter reverberating in front of the television. Thus, watching sports can allow valuable relationships to deepen and establish. In conclusion, watching sports is not only solely for entertainment purposes, but also operates as a platform to expand connections and function as an input for improvements.