Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, develop countries should give other types of help to poorer countries rather than financial aid. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Wealthier nations are in great efforts of supporting poorer ones in solving famine by providing financial aid. However, it is argued that this type of help does not really work and other more effective alternatives are required. Personally, I agree with this opinion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that providing financial support to poorer nations enables their citizens to have an amount of money for their fundamental needs. To illustrate, locking down during the COVID-19 pandemic has exhausted the global economy, especially among underdeveloped and developing countries. Therefore, money received from wealthier states can be extremely valuable for them to satisfy their daily demands such as food, clothes and medicine and even have some cash left over for an emergency. On the other hand, I believe that poorer regions should be provided with other types of support to deal with the problem of starvation in the long term. Firstly, it is essential to have a good basic education which equips children with knowledge and the necessary skills to overcome daily challenges. Moreover, good schooling is the key driver contributing to the decline of poverty and fostering economic and social development. To be more specific, the United Nations expected that by 2050, the GDP of poorer countries would increase by 70% if all children got studying. Secondly, richer nations can transfer modern technology to poorer ones as a means of support. It is true that the adoption of advanced technology in agriculture may boost agricultural productivity, helping these countries not only ensure domestic food safety but also export food which ultimately leads to an increase in the overall income. For instance, World Bank reported that thanks to modern machines applied in agriculture, crop yields in East Asia have grown 6 times during the last 40 years, contributing to a considerable decline in poverty in this region. In conclusion, while giving money can help poorer regions to solve the problem of impoverishment to some extent, I believe that providing good education and modern technology are more sustainable solutions, enabling them to overcome this issue in the long term.