The international community must act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce their consumption of fossil fuels such as gas, oil and coal. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion.

Most countries are endowed with non-renewable energy naturally. The international community must take action as soon as possible to see to it that every country reduces their usage of fossil fuels such as gas, oil and coal. I strongly agree with this notion, and in my opinion, the international association should work together to tackle the issue of using excessive fossil fuels. Moreover, investing in other forms and sources of energy is essential. This essay will elaborate more on my views. Although it may be argued that the consumption of non-renewable energy should be reduced, there are some reasons why it should not. Firstly, the utilization of these fuels aids the economic growth of a country in the sense that it provides lower energy costs for consumers. Societies depend on these fuels for electricity, powering of vehicles, as well as manufacturing of goods. They can also be exported to other nations, thus, increasing the economy. Secondly, fossil fuels can be used in the production of other materials. For instance, coal is crucial in the production of cement, medicines and tars. Refineries turn crude oil into usable products such as gasoline, diesel and aviation fuels. Thirdly, these fuels are cheap sources of energy since their reservoirs are easy to detect. Nevertheless, even though there are certain benefits of fossil fuels, I believe their consumption should be minimized because they cannot be relied on forever. They are non-renewable, meaning that they do not naturally replenish fast enough for humans to use forever. For example, coal takes millions of years to formand at our current usage rate, we will simply run out of fossil fuels if international bodies do not act to ensure the reduction of their use. Again, global warming is another downside. Fossil fuels have negative effects on our planet as they contribute greatly to climate change. When they are burned, particles are put into the atmosphere which traps heat from the sun, therefore, causing a continuous rise in average global temperatures. Furthermore, the use of non-renewable energy is a leading cause of pollution on the planet. To illustrate this, byproducts emitted during the combustion of these fuels such as carbon monoxide, methane and sulphur can be quite harmful to the health of humans, plants and animals. Oil leakage and spillage can also be detrimental to water bodies and the organisms therein. In summary, I strongly believe that in order to curtail the consumption of fossil fuels, the international society must work together and immediately, because the overuse of these fuels may actually cause more harm than good. In addition, I suggest that investments in renewable sources of energy, such as solar energy will put us in a better position.