More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reason for this. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is unquestionable that a myriad of individuals are choosing to own material things produced by some famous brands. Although this behaviour can be caused by the necessity to be accepted by the society presented by some people, it also may harm local companies when it comes to financial aspects. Firstly, nowadays some individuals are showing their branded materials possession as a way of improving their self-image among their pairs, as such types of items can be expensive and, besides that, highly desired for different individuals. Consequently, people will feel more empowered for using such a famous brand object. For example, it is estimated that 4 out of 10 Brazilian citizens relate the desire to buy an iPhone or other Apple device, because they agree it may improve their image and make them look cool between their friends and relatives. Secondly, when it comes to local businesses' finances this behaviour can be harmful, because some companies, that are not famous, depend on selling their products for people to increase their income. As a consequence, if individuals choose to buy a famous brand rather than an unfamous one, local companies will probably suffer from financial issues. For example, It is known that 6 out of 10 clothes local industry in Japan relate decrease in their sales since a new Balenciaga store opened last year, which results in a significant decrease in financial resources faced by these local companies. To conclude, I do believe that such behaviour presented by some individuals that prefer to buy from famous brands can be harmful to local companies and their finances. Ideally, such choices need to be made individually as each person has their own perception and desires to be fulfilled.