Public transport should be free. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that public transport should be costless. This essay completely agrees with this statement. I will discuss the reasons in the ensuing paragraphs. On the one hand, if public transport is gratuitous such as buses, trains and trams, many people will choose one of these ways of transport instead of driving their cars. These would bring benefits to our environment, helping to reduce pollution. Furthermore, having fewer cars on the road will avoid traffic congestion. Nowadays big cities are getting really busy and they are experimenting traffic jams at any time of the day not only at rush hours as it used to be. For instance, in a recent quiz made in France, 80% of the people who participated in it, said they would stop using their cars if public transport becomes free. On the other hand, the government offering free transport would be an effective way to help the population with their economy. People would not need to spend a huge amount of money every year fixing their cars, paying insurance and spending a large proportion of their earnings on fuel. For instance, the prime minister of Uruguay, a small country situated in South America that has had free transport since 2018, said that the population achieved to start saving more than half of their salaries thanks to this change. To conclude, in my,opinion it is undeniable that public transport would not only certainly help our environment and populations economy