To succeed in business, one needs to know math. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people regard math skills as a key factor to achieving success in business as it facilitates the decision-making process. However, I believe it is only one out of various factors that contribute to business success and therefore non-essential. On the one hand, math enables key people to make better decisions. One application of business mathematics to provide statistics that can predict future scenarios. These predictions might lay a firm foundation for more informed and evidence-based decisions, replacing biased ones based on managers’ gut feelings. (Eg)For decades, Unilever has utilised a statistical model that can forecast the supply and demand of fast-moving consumer goods, allowing the company leaders to promptly plan the production and sales of each product category. On the other hand, I believe that one can run a business successfully without excellent math skills. In fact, many entrepreneurs have built billion-dollar enterprises thanks to great personal qualities. A good example, in this case, this case is Nguyen Thanh Duc, the chairman of NTD Group. He was known to be a disruptive student that failed almost all school subjects including math, yet he rose to become an inspirational leader who could motivate his employees to strive to gain collective success for the corporation. In addition, his success is attributed to the courage to take the risks that rational calculations, such as those that guide Unilever, would rule out. As these leadership qualities concurred with good fortune, his the startup has evolved into a multinational business empire, becoming the market leader in many industries including real estate, fishery and forestry. In conclusion, although statistical math could help make better decisions, I am of the opinion that risk-taking, inspirational personality traits and luck are crucial to driving an enterprise to success. That is why business schools should focus more on honouring interpersonal skills including leadership and communication