In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh its advantages?

In many nations around the globe, its inhabitants prefer to consume meals from different regions of the country instead of locally produced from their relative areas. I think the drawbacks of this trend surpass the benefits. The first disadvantage is the expensive procurement cost. The food products prepared in other regions are required to be neatly packed and assembled for delivery, however, this can prove to be costly because there are several workers needed to ensure that an item complies with the standard quality metrics, and the cost of fuel associated with transporting them. For instance, the standard freight charges around 100$ for one-way delivery, this would prove to be very expensive for people wanting to eat on a regular basis. The second drawback is the loss of business for local producers. Since people would be most interested in purchasing outsourced products, the local farmers and restaurants would suffer financial losses. The demand for their produce would significantly decline and they would be forced to sell at a price that isn't profitable. For example, when KFC entered the Indian markets, the local fast- food food industry couldn't compete, and many local entrepreneurs decided to quit. However, there is one advantage of consuming regional foods it allows people to experience diverse foods. Nowadays, many mega shopping malls have dedicated food court food courts installed, their main purpose is to allow people to experience cuisines from all over the world. Consumers can try Chinese, Arabic, and Western foods at the same time. For instance, the Jackson food court in Adriana Mall offers more than a thousand food stalls for people to eat, and there is massive traffic of people on weekends especially at Chinese restaurants. To conclude, there are several costs attached to outsourced foods, which may be more expensive than the locally available products.