The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being over weight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society. How can this problem be solved.

It is true that the number of citizens who are at risk of significant medical conditions as a result of being overweight is rising. In this essay, I will set out a possible reason for this increase and go on to offer a solution to this issue. These days, more and more people have sedentary lifestyles because of their work. This is because the number of professions which require spending more time in offices has increased. While in the past, most people worked physically, nowadays they have to spend the majority of time in front of their computers without any physical activity, which, in many situations, leads to obesity and health problems. For example, for the last 50 years, the percentage of overweight people in the USA has risen by 40%. To adress this problem, governments should launch the programme of providing free sporting centres in companies and making it a mandatory requirement for each worker to attend them on a daily basis. This will help employees include exercises in their daily routine which is part and parcel of staying fit. The statistics report that at least 30 minutes of daily exercises are able to prevent the development of multiple diseases such as heart attacks, strokes, and diabetes by 50%. If people follow this approach, it will help them be healthier. Therefore, these measures must be taken in order to prevent the growth in the number of overweight people. In conclusion, I have presented a reason why the percentage of overweight people in society is going up and provided a possible solution to tackle this problem.