Today children spend a lot of their free time watching TV Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this pratice?

In the modern world, young people spend the majority of their leisure time watching television. There are potential benefits and drawbacks of this practice but the negative impacts tend to be more significant. First of all, the most apparent drawback is it will have negative impacts on children’s physical health such as eye problems or obesity. For instance, watching TV involves sitting and seeing a large animated screen, this practice does not involve any active exercise. Accordingly, in the long term, kids are likely to become lazier and refuse to do exercise. As a result, they will become overweight and this can lead to many other health issues. Secondly, as kids are not willing to go outside and hang out with their friends, they might have problems with socializing or making friends. In particular, because they are too focused on the TV, they do not go outside. In turn, they will lack social skills and might not be able to socialize with other people. This can be a huge drawback for children in the future as they will need to have those skills in order to become successful. On the other hand, it is not always a bad thing for the kids to watch TV. It can be the place where they can learn many things. For instance, many children are able to learn how to count, read and sing through animated videos on YouTube. It is an easier tool for them to imitate and learn compared to reading books. Overall, the disadvantages of watching TV are more notable than the disadvantages. It can lead to many negative impacts such as health issues or social issues. However, children can actually learn a lot through it.