More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

In this day and age, studying at colleges and universities in foreign countries is one of the most popular choices for many students. While this trend has many negative effects, I am firmly convinced that the positive effects are more significant. On the one hand, studying at colleges and universities in foreign countries can bring some demerits. The first demerit is that studying in foreign countries can cost a lot of money. This is mainly because when students are staying in foreign countries to study, the cost of living is very high. Besides, tuition fees in these countries may be higher than the fees in their home country. The second demerit is that when studying abroad, students may have to experience culture shock. The main reason is that sometimes they cannot understand the language and the lifestyle in other countries is different from their own. For example, when a Vietnamese student comes to the US to study, he or she will easily suffer from culture shock because the two cultures are very different. On the other hand, I personally believe that the merits of studying at colleges and universities in foreign countries are more considerable. To begin with, when studying abroad, students can have better job opportunities. One of the reasons is that a college or university degree which is achieved abroad/overseas might be more valuable. As a consequence, they can have opportunities to work abroad or work in international companies. In addition, studying in foreign countries can help students broaden their horizons. This is mainly because they can experience new cultures and ways of life in other countries when they study there. For example, when studying in a country where people are open-minded, they could become more open-minded themselves. In conclusion, while studying at colleges and universities in foreign countries can have several drawbacks, it is my firm belief that the benefits are more remarkable.