Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Contributing to society voluntarily is a good way to give back to the community. People argue that high schools must integrate free community service into educational programmes. I disagree with this opinion as the students ’ time is already occupied with their studies and unpaid community service should be carried out on their own accord without any pressure and enforcement. Everyone should have a right to make their own decision and enforcement is clearly breaking basic human rights. Similarly, high school students should have their own authority to decide whether to contribute free community service. Forcing young people to do something they dislike can lead to resentment and dissatisfaction towards the community and their elders. Structuring the high school programmes in a way to include voluntary service is impractical and unreasonable. First, students require to dedicate long hours to their studies. High school is the critical period for students to study hard for their university entrance exam. If they didn’t allocate enough time for study, they would miss the opportunity to attend their dream university. Second, high school students spend most of their time in the classroom and they need enough rest to focus on their study. Unpaid voluntary work on top of studying and school can be overwhelming for most students. Finally, students should choose how they want to spend their spend after their busy study schedule. They may not be willing to do community work and instead, they probably want to do their hobbies, and mingle with friends and family. To conclude, although voluntary community service is a good thing to do, studying is more important in higher education for university entrance. In addition, everyone should have the right to decide whether to do unpaid community service or not.