Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Religion has always been a very sensitive topic in our society. Some people argue that school subjects with regards to religion should be avoided. However, in my opinion religion should be part of school curriculum. On the one hand, groups that are in favor of removing religion classes in school believe that it creates conflict among students with different beliefs. They think that students must be free from religious pressure and have the free will to choose what they want to follow. Certain schools for example, that accepts multi-cultural students, do not provide subjects with regards to religion. However, there are institutions like catholic schools that can freely discussed their faith to their students. On the other hand, I strongly agree that religion should be included in school programs. Contrary to what other people say, teaching religion in school can make the students be more aware of other’s faith. Additionally, no matter what type of religion subjects is offered, they all discuss how to be kind and good person which I think an excellent way to shape the children’s character. Moreover, teaching this subject does not necessarily mean that the children are forced to follow the specific type of religion being taught. That being said, schools must be cautious with this aspect and be respectful to other student’s beliefs. On the final note, I believed that religion helps development of ones character on the basis of being good hence must be taught in schools however respect must be in place.